
  

A.R.S 3-1295 LIVESTOCK - LIENS: 
A person who furnishes pasture, feed or other services for 

livestock on the premises of that person has a lien on the 

stock for the amount of the charges that are due and 

unpaid.  A person having such lien may retain the stock 

until the charges are paid.  If possession continues for 

twenty days after the charges accrue, and the charges have 

not been paid, the person retaining possession of the stock 

may perfect the amount of the lien by filing an action in 

either superior court or justice court, according to the 

amount in controversy, in the jurisdiction of the holder of 

the stock.  The hearing shall be held not less than ten and 

not more than twenty days after the date the action is filed 

in court.  If the prevailing party does not receive payment 

due within ten days after the final judgment of the court, 

the prevailing party becomes the owner of the stock.  The 

court shall award the prevailing party court costs and 

reasonable attorney’s fees. 
 

 

A.R.S. 3-1295(b) LIVESTOCK - LIENS 

On presenting a judgment of the court in the appropriate 

jurisdiction awarding ownership to the holder of the stock 

in satisfaction of the lien, the department shall issue to the 

holder of the stock such ownership and hauling 

certificates, certificates of inspection or other papers 

ordinarily required on the transfer of ownership of 

livestock. 
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LIVESTOCK LIEN SUMMONS AND 
COMPLAINT- INSTRUCTIONS TO PLAINTIFF 

  
When you are representing yourself, you are acting as your own 

attorney and are responsible for your case.  Please keep in mind 

that it is unlawful for Court Clerks to give you legal advice or 

suggest actions for you to take. The Court furnishes the forms 

and information packets and the Clerks may only instruct you in 

the procedures for filing your claim.  This particular packet 

contains important written information to help you both 

complete the Livestock Lien Summons and Complaint form and 

pursue your claim in the Court. 

  
PRE-FILING INFORMATION: 
 

1.     Before you file the Complaint, you may wish to review the 

Statutes surrounding Livestock Liens (A.R.S. §3-1295 &  

        §3-1295B).  Statutes are available at the University of 

Arizona Law Library, the Pima County Superior Court Law 

Library, and most public libraries.  
  

2.    When you sue someone or a business, you are the 

PLAINTIFF; the person or business being sued is the 

DEFENDANT. 
 

3.    You and the defendant may wish to use another way of 

settling your case called ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION.   

  
4.  You may file for any amount not to exceed $10,000.  You may 

reduce a larger claim to $10,000 and waive the remaining 

amount.  You may not split a claim and file two separate 

actions.  You may file for “court costs” in addition to the 

$10,000 maximum.  Court costs may include, but are not 

limited to, filing and service fees.  Interest, as provided by 

law, may also be allowed. 
   

5.   Before you file the Complaint, you should research any 

appropriate information necessary to proceed on the case 

inclusive of the EXACT LEGAL NAME and address of the 

person or business you are suing. Many valuable public 

information resources are available to you such as Consumer 

Affairs, City or County Business License Offices, State of 

Arizona Corporation Commission, telephone books, City 

Directories, Information and Referral Services, County 

Recorders, and County Assessors. 
  

6.   After your case is filed, you must notify the Court in writing 

of any address and telephone changes. 

                                        
HOW TO FILE: 
  

1.    After completing the Summons and Complaint form included 

in this packet, you must file the forms at the civil counter and 

pay the appropriate filing fee.  A filing fee Chart is included in 

the packet.  The clerk will assign a case number and set a 

hearing within 20 days from date of issuance of the Complaint 

in compliance of Statute A.R.S. §3-1295 LIEN FOR FEED, 

PASTURAGE AND OTHER SERVICES. 

  
2. If you think you may qualify for a Waiver or Deferral of 

the filing and/or service fees, you must tell the Clerk 

before you file your Complaint   The Clerk will ask you to 

complete the proper forms and then arrange for you to 

speak with a Judge. 
  

3.  After your case is filed and the Summons is issued, you 

must have the Defendant served with a copy of the 

“Summons and Complaint”.  You may do so by taking the 

“service copies” to a Constable or Private Process Server.    

Please note that there will be a fee for service 

 
GOING TO TRIAL: 
 

1.  Your Complaint will be given a Case Number and a 

Hearing date will be set within 20 days and will be heard 

by a Justice of the Peace. 
 

IF A JUDGMENT IS ENTERED IN YOUR FAVOR : 

 
1.     Ask the Judgment Debtor to pay the amount of the judgment. 

 2.     If you are granted a judgment on your case, the Defendant has 

ten days to pay the judgment.  If you do not receive payment 

within ten days, you become the owner of the stock.  

 
 

THE COURT DOES NOT COLLECT FOR YOU 
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